Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel – Rest day

Posted on

Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel 

REST DAY: ATAR
Sunday 6/1 2002

I am so glad it is the rest day today. Well, rest means cleaning and servicing. 

Lovely, I am going to take a hot bath. Normally we shower in cold water but I found an old laundry tub here that I just managed to sit in and have been splashing around in for a while. What a wonderful luxury! I hadn’t combed my hair for a week so I must have looked terrible. 

Then washing up clothes and cleaning out my box. 

Also the bike will get a good service, oil and filters, and change of drive chain. 

The whole time I’m under huge pressure as the time schedule is very tight. There has been no time to rest during the week also feeling more and more exhausted. Every day it is just time for the basics, “must eat and must sleep” that is essential. It is important to preserve as much energy as possible and I notice that all my energy must be focused in the riding. I have also realised that the Dakar is far tougher than I ever imagined. I am very grateful for the fantastic help that I am getting from Patrick servicing my Honda. Without his help I would have suffered way more. 

I still have a fever and feeling a bit weak, but I am well enough to keep going in the race tomorrow!

