Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel – Stage 7: Marathon, Part 2

Posted on Updated on

Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel 

STAGE 7: Marathon  Part 2
TAN-TAN-ZOUERAT (752 km)
Friday 4/1 2002 

After the six hour break in the marathon stage, I started the second 752 km long part in the middle of the night at 2.32 am.

I almost fell asleep on the morning road section, struggling to stay awake. At the start of the special the organisers served a quick outdoors breakfast at sunrise. There I met the Swedish car team Roos/Rosenblad again as they rolled in when I was about to leave.

The special went really well, just missing one turn off, but I wasn’t the only one. I was gassing full throttle on the little 400 for it to keep up the speed in the more sandy and soft terrain. Still I had to downshift because lack of power, we’re not as fast as the bigger bikes although we did as good as we could. Good stage arriving 88th at the finish, and just before sunset! Finally some warmer temperature in Mauritania, first time I could wear shorts.

Exhausted after the 1545 km marathon, I felt like in a haze of fever and pain. I just wanted to lie down and rest, after having a cold shower, almost missing the dinner. Thankfully Norwegian rider Pål Anders Ullevålseter came by and woke me up.

One more day to go before we reach the half way rest day. Then I will ha e time to sleep and recover a little.


STAGE 7: Marathon Part 2

TAN-TAN-ZOUERAT, 752 km
Friday 4/1 2002
Liaison : 365 km
Special : 371 km
Liaison : 16 km

