Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel – Stage 2

Posted on Updated on

Relive #Dakar2002 with Annie Seel 

STAGE 2:  CHATEAUROUX-NARBONNE (598 km)

Saturday 29/12 2001 

Up at seven after just a few hours sleep. Quick breakfast. Clothes and boots were still soggy wet, so it was not at all fun to put them on again. Rolled away at 8.40, but had to stop and fix with rattling roadbook and my wet jacket. Missed a turn and came too late to the special, got penalty time for that. 

The first special of the Dakar 2002 consisted of a 6 km loop on wet muddy fields with some jumps. Not what I wanted when I was stiff and cold from the morning ride. Started last and saw many bikes and cars stuck in the field. Also I succeeded with to skid sideways into a stop and lost even more time before I got the bike running again. Carburettor playing up. 

Finished 149 today, not a brilliant start on the race. I also had to stop and clean out the carburettor on the last liaison so it was a late finish at 19.39. A long and bad day. And still a very long way to go.

Liaison : 82 km 

Special : 6 km

Liaison : 510 km

Total : 598 km

