Blood, sweat and tears

Posted on Updated on

ENGLISH
The last week was a real hell, a bloody fight for survival.
So deeply disappointed. Hard to be happy, it all feel like a total failure. It’s so cruel that the leading position in the first week turned into such a disaster, with a long struggle only to reach the finish at all.
Have been crying many many many times in the last days of Dakar. It was a hopeless feeling standing out there in the night with a dead bike, hoping for som little help like towing it to make it run a few more miles. Yet not sure to make it to finish.
The last morning the sentinel was malfunctioning and caused 30 minutes lost time on the connection, also the clutch broke and a stressful hurry to the start of the last special – then all tears came flowing while riding. The bike could break on the way in that speed – had to keep 120 km/h to make it to start time before the cars went off.
Then the bike really broke only 2-3 km from finish. Luckily a friend helped out by towing the bike the last bit. Then the bike was pushed over the finish line. – I fell it down and stood on it with both arms up – this was my victory! Getting a dead bike to the finish.

SVENSKA
Den sista veckan var ett riktigt helvete, en blodig kamp om överlevnad.
Otroligt besviken. Svårt att vara glad, känns bara så misslyckat.
Så grymt att den första veckans överlägsna ledning kan bytas till en sån katastrof, och det blir kamp om att kunna komma i mål överhuvudtaget.
Har gråtit flera flera flera gånger under de sista dagarna i Dakar. Det har känts så hopplöst att stå därute i natten med en död mc, och hoppas kunna få lite hjälp att bogsera igång så jag kan köra några mil till. Men inte vara säker på att komma i mål.
Sista morgonen när sentinel krånglade o jag tappade 30 min på morgontransporten, kopplingen lade av och jag stressade för att hinna till min start på sista specialen – då strömmade tårarna medan jag körde. Visste att hojen förmodligen skulle rasa på vägen för jag var tvungen att ligga i 120 km för att hinna (måste ta min start innan första bil sticker).
Och så stannade hojen bara 2-3 km före mål, men som tur var fick jag bogserhjälp den sista biten och kunde knuffa hojen över mållinjen.  Sen välte jag omkull den på marken och ställde mig på den med armarna i luften – det var min seger! Att ha fått en död mc i mål.

One thought on “Blood, sweat and tears

    Bremo Guy said:
    2011/01/20 at 11:20

    Incredible achievement, you should be very proud !

    Like

Leave a Reply

